Analytics vs. Adwords Conversions

Adwords

  • Cookie tiemframe 30 days
  • Assignment of the conversion to the click date, the date and time, the user clicked on the corresponding Ad. Therefore conversion statistics for the past 30 days may change due to the cookie lifetime. Keep in mind that a final reporting for a day is available 30 days later.
  • Tracking of all conversions happening after a click on an Adwords ad – even if the user doesn't directly convert during the corresponding session, but instead later on after returning through another campaign or channel to the website.

Analytics

  • Cookie timeframe of 30 days for standard reports
  • Assignment of the conversion to the sale date, the exact time when the transaction has taken place. Optimal for reporting purpose, as the statistics are final on the next day.
  • Global view of all traffic channels and campaigns. For the standard views, the conversion will be assigned to the last-click channel. Campaigns will override „direct traffic“ for a standard period of 6 months. If a user is coming through an Adwords campaign for a first non-converting visit, then later on returns using natural search before converting, the conversion will be assigned to natural search in standard views.
  • In addition to the standard views, Analytics offers several attribution views, where you can get insights on other assignment models (first clic, distribution, ...). Besides this you can have a look at the channel or campaign touchpoint path for the conversion (not including impressions in the free Analytics version)

For both tracking systems you should keep in mind that only data is tracked which is passed to the tracking tags. If larger discrepancies appear, you should first check which parameters and values are passed to both of the tracking tags (i.e. revenue including vat or not). Analytics also offers the possibility to track tax and shipping cost in a separate field. Adwords in contrast only stores one overall conversion value withouth additional information.

Analytics vs. Adwords Conversions

Adwords

  • Cookie Laufzeit 30 Tage
  • Zuordnung der Conversion zum Klick Datum, also dem Zeitpunkt an dem der Klick auf die jeweilige Anzeige erfolgte. Folge hieraus: Statistiken der Vergangenheit können sich noch für die Laufzeit des Cookies ändern, weshalb ein finales Reporting erst nach 30 Tagen möglich ist.
  • Messung aller Conversions, die nach einem Klick auf deine Anzeige erfolgt sind – auch wenn der Nutzer nicht direkt gekauft hat, sondern später über einen anderen Kanal oder eine andere Kampagne auf die Webseite zurückgekehrt ist, bevor er den Kauf getätigt hat.

Analytics

  • Cookie Laufzeit von 30 Tagen für Standard Ansichten
  • Zuordnung der Conversion zum Sale Datum, also dem Zeitpunkt an dem der Kauf stattgefunden hat. Ideal für Reporting, da die Statistiken am nächsten Tag sind.
  • Betrachtung aller Traffic-Kanäle und Kampagnen. Die Conversion wird in den Standard-Ansichten nur dem Last-Click Kanal zugeordnet, wobei Werbekampagnen den „Direct Traffic“ Kanal für einen standardmäßigen Zeitraum von 6 Monaten überschreiben. Wenn also ein Nutzer zunächst über eine Adwords Kampagne auf die jeweilige Webseite kommt, nicht direkt kauft, über die natürliche Suche auf die Seite zurückkehrt und dann Kauft, dann wird die Conversion der natürlichen Suche als Quelle zugeordnet.
  • Zusätzlich zu den Standard-Ansichten bietet Analytics diverse Attributions-Ansichten, bei denen neben Last Click auch andere Zuordnungs-Modelle betrachtet werden können. Außerdem kann man für alle Conversions den Touchpoint Pfad betrachten (ohne Banner Impressions in der kostenlosen Analytics Version)

Für beide Conversion Tracking Tags gilt, dass die Zahlen getrackt werden, die von der Webseite übergeben werden. Falls große Diskrepanzen auftreten, müsste hier geprüft werden, was an das jeweiligen Tracking übergeben wird – beispielsweise Brutto oder Netto Werte. In Analytics kann man separat auch Daten für Steuer und Versand bei der Transaktion übergeben - bei Adwords dagegen kann nur ein einzelner Conversion Wert im Tag übergeben werden.